Miami: Gold Coast Railroad Museum

Today’s photo album showcases my photos of the Gold Coast Railroad Museum, in Miami Florida.

Why I went there:

Back in the sixties, my little grandma (by herself, which was a big deal then; she was happily married to my grandpa but he stayed behind to work) took my dad and aunt on the Zephyr, the train that runs from Chicago to Oakland, so they could do a family vacation in California. It was before the internet, so she planned and booked it all my phone and by mail. The trains on the Zephyr line were really cool, and really ahead of their time: Passenger sleeper compartments had toilets right in the room, and the fanciest room even had a shower! And best of all was the dome room, so you could see the beautiful mountains and other things over the two and a half day trip across the country.

My grandma lives in Miami now, with my aunt and uncle, and the Miami Gold Coast Railroad Museum has one of the trains from the Zephyr line. The particular train they have is called the Silver Crescent, built in 1948, and is the only surviving one with all the original stuff. It was so cool, like being in an enormous fifties car. I went with my aunt and later my dad and her took my grandma to it so they could all have a nostalgia-fest. 

Other Miami posts/albums:

4 comments

Leave a Reply

