“Little Moscow” – Abandoned School

IMG_7247xw

No one in Kalocsa (the little town I lived in in Hungary for half a year, in 2006) ever talked about “Little Moscow” until my apartment-mate Jon discovered it one day: A bunch of abandoned school and apartment buildings for the Russian settlement that used to be there. Since I hadn’t been to Ukraine yet, wandering around these old buildings was, for me, the closest thing to being in Russia.

FULL PHOTO ALBUM IS HERE. I doubt there are many other photos of this place on the internet. P.S. My Russian is terrible, but I’m pretty sure that poster says “Study/learn for five (years?), work for five, defend/protect the motherland for five!”

Leave a Reply

